How MS/MS Can Improve Your ICP-MS Data Quality, Whatever Your Application

Jul 11, 2018

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/quality

Conventional single quadrupole ICP-MS instruments with helium mode collision–reaction cells (CRCs) produce acceptable results in the vast majority of routine trace metal or elemental impurity measurements. But data quality can be compromised by the presence of more intense or problematic spectral interferences, especially in cases where low analyte levels combine with complex and variable sample types. In these cases, single quadrupole ICP-MS may be unable to identify or resolve the interferences, leading to uncertainty and errors.

The solution to these analytical challenges is to use a double mass selection approach, known as tandem MS or MS/MS, using a triple quadrupole ICP-MS instrument. MS/MS allows precise control of the interference removal process using reactive cell gases, giving reliable, accurate results for interfered elements. Controlled reaction chemistry simplifies ICP-MS methodology, as the reaction chemistry is independent of the sample matrix or the presence of other analytes. This means that the same analytical conditions can be applied to many different sample types, including those where the sample composition is not known in advance.

The benefits of ICP-QQQ with MS/MS have been widely accepted in industries where data quality is key, as well as proving invaluable in research applications. Now the need for greater certainty and improved data quality is leading to adoption of ICP-QQQ with MS/MS for more typical ICP-MS applications. In this webcast, we’ll discuss examples that explain why.

 

Key Learning Objectives:

  • See how MS/MS can identify and resolve the hidden interferences that may be causing errors in your ICP-MS trace element data.
  • Find out how method development tools unique to ICP-MS/MS can help you select the best cell gas and analyte product ions for your application.
  • Understand how MS/MS can simplify your ICP-MS analysis, by allowing you to use consistent reaction methods for varied samples.
  • Learn how triple quadrupole ICP-MS improves detection limits and allows access to elements not traditionally run on ICP-MS.

 

Speakers:

Bert Woods, ICP-MS Applications Chemist, Agilent Technologies

 

Date and Time:

Live: Europe: Wednesday, 11 July, 2018 at 1400 BST | 1500 CEST

North America: Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 10 am CDT | 8 am PDT

After the final airing of the webcast on 11 July, 2018 it will be available on demand until 11 July, 2019. 

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies, Inc.  

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/quality

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum