Understanding the Causes of Errors and Interferences in ICP Analyses, and the Impact They Can Have on Your Analytical Results

April 29, 2020

Sponsored Content

Want to learn more about the possible sources of errors and interferences in your ICP-MS and ICP-OES methods? Need some tips on how to spot when these errors might be affecting your results? Join us for the first of a series of three webcasts that will help you understand how to identify and address errors and improve your confidence in the accuracy of your data. Live: Part 1 Broadcast: Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2020 Europe: 9am EDT | 2pm BST | 3pm CEST US: 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT On demand available after airing until Apr. 29, 2021.

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/ICP_series

Event Overview:

Part 1 of a 3 Part Series: Identifying and Mitigating the Errors and Interferences that can Affect ICP-OES and ICP-MS Data Quality

Confirming the quality of analytical data has never been more important. As regulated methods and data validation are applied across a wider range of industries and applications, laboratories increasingly need to demonstrate that their methods are robust, and their results are accurate.

Many factors have the potential to cause errors in ICP-OES and ICP-MS data. Analytical results can be affected by things like signal drift, contamination, chemical stability, and carry-over, as well as various types of spectral interferences. But how can you identify the causes of these errors, and what steps can you take to avoid or correct them?

In this webcast series, we will present some practical approaches to identifying and understanding sources of errors in ICP-MS and OES data. We’ll look at the benefits and limitation of some of the most widely used approaches to monitoring data quality. And we will introduce the current state of instrumentation and strategies that users can employ to address some common errors.

Join us for Part 1 of this webcast series as we delve into:

  • Identifying the sources of errors in ICP-OES and ICP-MS data

  • Techniques to address common errors and improve data quality in ICP applications

  • Dealing with the challenges of extending ICP methods into new sample types, novel applications, and emerging priority analytes

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn to identify the main causes of errors and interferences in ICP data

  • Gain insight into how errors can affect data quality in typical ICP applications

  • Understand the tools available to address errors and ensure your results are accurate

Speakers: Ed McCurdy, ICP-MS Product Marketing, Agilent Technologies Inc.

Ross Ashdown, Optical Atomic Spectroscopy Marketing Manager, Agilent Technologies Inc.

Time and Date: Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2020

Europe: 9am EDT | 2pm BST | 3pm CEST

US: 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT

On demand available after airing until Apr. 29, 2021.

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/ICP_series