FACSS 2010 Preview: Tomorrow's Analytical Sciences Today



Volume 0
Issue 0

Spectroscopy offers a sneak peak into the 37th FACSS Conference taking place October 17-21, 2010, in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Raleigh, North Carolina is a city steeped in rich history and natural beauty, so it should come as no surprise that the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies chose it as the site for the 37th FACSS Conference. The conference will be held October 17–21, 2010, at the Raleigh Convention Center.


Tomorrow's Analytical Sciences Today

As this year's slogan states, the 2010 FACSS Conference will deliver on the latest breakthroughs paving the way for future analytical scientists. The conference will begin on Sunday evening with the "What's Hot Presentations," from 4:40 p.m to 7:00 p.m.

Monday, and each day after, will begin and finish with plenary sessions by internationally recognized speakers and FACSS award winners. Kicking off the lectures on Monday will be the Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievement by a Young Analytical Scientist winner Christy L. Haynes, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, Minnesota). Haynes' presentation is titled "Electroanalytical Eavesdropping on Cellular Communications." After the first lecture, attendees will have a vast pick of poster and oral presentations to attend. Finally, Uli Hacksell of ACADIA Pharmaceuticals will end the first day's events with his plenary lecture, "The Role of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy in Drug Discovery and Development: Challenges and Opportunities."

The remaining days of the conference will follow the same format, covering a variety of interesting topics and break-through presentations. Prizes will be awarded daily for outstanding poster presentations.

And the Award Goes to . . .

A highlight at any conference is always seeing who wins the accolades of his or her peers and what these award winners are bringing to the forefront of analytical science. FACSS 2010 is just such a conference, boasting both student and professional awards.

This year's student awards include the Tomas A. Hirschfeld Award and the FACSS Student Award. The Tomas A. Hirschfeld Award will be presented to Anil Kodali, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (Urbana, Illinois) and Ishan Barman Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (Cambridge, Massachusetts). The FACSS Student Award will be presented to Jacob Shelley, Indiana University (Bloomington, Indiana).

There are a number of professional awards to be presented at this year's conference, as well. The Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancements presented at FACSS in the field of applied Raman spectroscopy or demonstrated dedication to the advancement of the FACSS Raman spectroscopy program or the ASTM Raman subcommittee. This year's recipient will be Richard L. McCreery, who is currently Professor of Chemistry at the University of Alberta (Alberta, Canada), with a joint appointment as a Senior Research Officer at the National Institute for Nanotechnology (Edmonton, Canada).

Another award being presented is the Ellis R. Lippincott Award, which is given to someone who has made significant contributions to vibrational spectroscopy. These contributions may be theoretical, experimental, or both, as well as basic or applied. This year's recipient is Martin Moskovits, Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara, California).

Additional award listings and recipient biographies can be found at www.facss.org. There will be official presentations of these awards made at the conference.


More than 50 companies will showcase their products in the exhibit hall during the week. The exhibit hall will open on Monday evening with a reception.


For more information and to register online, please visit the FACSS website at www.facss.org. FACSS International Office, P.O. Box 24379, Sante Fe, NM 87502, Phone: (505) 820-1648, Fax: (505) 989-1073, Email: facss@facss.org.

Related Videos
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel