Pharmaceutical Formulation Development: Solid-State Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis Using Transmission Raman and LDIR Chemical Imaging

April 22, 2020

Sponsored Content

Learn about the use of molecular spectroscopy techniques – transmission Raman spectroscopy (TRS) and laser direct infrared (LDIR) – for solid-state analysis in pharmaceutical formulation development. Live: US & Europe: Wednesday Apr. 22, 2020 at 9am EDT | 2pm BST | 3pm CEST US: Wednesday, Apr. 22, 2020 at 4pm EDT | 3pm CDT | 1pm PDT Asia Pacific: Thursday, Apr. 23, 2020 at 10:30am IST | 1pm CST | 2pm JST | 4pm AEST On demand available after airing until Apr. 22, 2021.

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/formulation_development

Event Overview:

This webcast will describe the use of molecular spectroscopy techniques-Transmission Raman Spectroscopy (TRS) and Laser Direct Infrared (LDIR)-for solid-state analysis in pharmaceutical formulation development. In the first of two presentations, Ashish Punia from Merck & Co. will discuss “Drug Product Identification and Physical Stability Analysis by Transmission Raman based Chemometrics,” describing the significant application of transmission Raman spectroscopy in pharmaceutical drug identification and stability analysis. Darren Robey of Agilent Technologies will then present “Advances in Chemical Imaging for Pharmaceutical Formulation Development using Laser Based Infrared Spectroscopy,” focusing on fast chemical imaging of tablet surfaces by LDIR.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Development of analytical techniques can be challenging for drug products consisting of a combination of formulations with low active pharmaceutical ingredient to excipient ratios. Commonly utilized techniques such as XRPD can give inconclusive results

  • Development of a TRS model for fast, non-destructive identification, separation and physical stability analysis will be described. A case study will compare TRS with XRPD, and the benefits of TRS compared to conventional Raman techniques will also be discussed

  • LDIR technology enables rapid, high quality surface imaging of large tablet surfaces, for applications including polymorph screening in formulation development

  • The latest advances in the use of LDIR chemical imaging will be presented

Speakers: Ashish Punia, Senior Scientist, Merck & Co., USA

Darren Robey, Global Product Manager – IR Imaging, Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Time and Date: US & Europe: Wednesday Apr. 22, 2020 at 9am EDT | 2pm BST | 3pm CEST

US: Wednesday, Apr. 22, 2020 at 4pm EDT | 3pm CDT | 1pm PDT

Asia Pacific: Thursday, Apr. 23, 2020 at 10:30am IST | 1pm CST | 2pm JST | 4pm AEST

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/formulation_development