The Value of Reliable Data: Advances and Strategies in ICP-OES to Handle High-Matrix Samples

Sponsored Content

Thursday, September 8th, 2022 at 11am EDT|8am PDT|4pm BST|5pm CEST Thursday, September 8th, 2022 at 2pm EDT|11am PDT|7pm BST|8pm CEST Friday, September 9th, 2022 at 12pm JST|11am HKT|11pm EDT Join us in this presentation to find out how the state-of-the-art ICP-OES technology can help you improve your elemental analysis in samples containing up to 30% of total dissolved solids.

Register free:
https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/high_matrix

Event Overview:

Sample matrices with high total dissolved solids (TDS) pose a demanding challenge in analysis by inductively coupled plasma–optical emission spectroscopy (ICP-OES). These sample types include wastewaters, seawater, high acid digests, fusions, and brines. The challenges associated with these samples include remeasurement of samples, interrupted runs, clogged nebulizers, signal drift, and all types of interferences.

During this webinar, we will discuss how to simplify your high-TDS analysis workflow beyond merely diluting your samples – which can impact detection limits. Alternatives to dilution may include selecting the right sample introduction system and targeted method development. We will also cover the use of smart ICP-OES features that will help you produce accurate results while optimizing productivity.


Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the challenges in ICP-OES brine analysis and how they affect your results.
  • Learn strategies for identifying and managing these challenges.
  • Find out how smart ICP-OES software and hardware can help you to improve accuracy and increase sample throughput in high total dissolved solids (TDS) analysis.


Who Should Attend:

  • Labs performing environmental analysis of samples with high levels of total dissolved solids (TDS).
  • Labs analyzing brines.
  • Researchers evaluating geothermal brines.

Chris Conklin
Product Specialist
Agilent Technologies

After earning a degree from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, Chris Conklin worked in and led a QC lab responsible for testing fine chemicals ranging from reagent grade to high purity for 12 years. In that role, Chris ran a variety of atomic instruments and techniques including AA, ICP-OES, and ICP-MS. Chris joined Agilent as an atomic spectroscopy product specialist in 2018.

Ana Garcia Gonzalez
Atomic Spectroscopy Application Scientist
Agilent Technologies

Ana Garcia Gonzalez is the Atomic Spectroscopy Application Scientist at Agilent Technologies in Wilmington, Delaware, USA. Ana has a broad background in atomic spectroscopy technologies, including international experience developing and validating analytical spectroscopy methods for the geochemical industry. She has also published in the fields of molecular spectroscopy and chemometrics. Ana holds an MSc in plant Biotechnology from the Center for Research and Advanced Studies (CINVESTAV) of the National Polytechnical Institute of Mexico, and a Bachelor of Science in Biotechnology Engineering. 

Register free:
https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/high_matrix