Elemental Analysis of Dietary Supplements and Superfoods

Webcasts

Tuesday, October 18th, 2022 at 11am EDT|8am PDT|4pm BST|5pm CEST Tuesday, October 18th, 2022 at 2pm EDT|11am PDT|7pm BST|8pm CEST How should you analyze food products and nutritional supplements for heavy metals and nutritional elements? Join Agilent Application Chemists Ruby Bradford and Alyssa Stevenson to learn how to ensure you are compliant with regulatory requirements.

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/superfoods

Event Overview:

Regulators, such as the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), require the elemental content of functional foods and dietary supplements to be known, before such products can be imported for sale. These products must be supplied with certificates of analysis detailing their elemental content. The analysis ensures that heavy metals are within safe levels and that nutrient elements are as per the product label. Knowing the elemental content of a product is correct also protects the reputation of the product brand. However, food products present some challenges for analysis via common atomic spectroscopy techniques. This webinar will cover:

  • An overview of the FDA regulations governing food products and dietary supplements
  • How elemental analysis is performed using atomic spectroscopy
  • Some of the challenges of analyzing food products using atomic spectroscopy and how they can be overcome.

Join us for this webinar event to learn how to perform the elemental analysis of functional foods and dietary supplements.


Key Learning Objectives:

  • Why it’s important to know the concentration of specific elements in foods and supplements
  • How elemental analysis of dietary supplements and superfoods is performed using atomic spectroscopy
  • How food samples are prepared for elemental analysis
  • What new methods are there for the atomic spectroscopy analysis of food products for heavy metals and nutritional elements?


Who Should Attend:

  • Food QA/QC lab managers
  • Inorganics/metals Lab Analysts working at food manufacturing plants
  • Staff at dietary supplements production facilities
  • Commercial testing laboratories responsible for nutritional and/or safety testing of foods

Ruby Bradford
Application Engineer, Agilent Technologies

Ruby Bradford is a chemistry graduate from the University of Melbourne and has been working as an Application Chemist at Agilent Technologies in the Atomic Spectroscopy Division since 2020. She is experienced in method development and sample preparation techniques and works extensively with inductively coupled plasma–optical emission spectroscopy (ICP-OES) instruments. She has a passion for spectroscopy and is currently developing an application note showcasing the capability of ICP-OES for functional food samples.

Alyssa Stevenson
Application Engineer, Agilent Technologies

Alyssa Stevenson is currently studying for a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT). She is participating in Agilent’s Internship program as an Application Chemist for 2022. As part of her degree program, Alyssa has gained experience with experimental procedures, report write-up, and attention to best laboratory practices. Alyssa has also collaborated at RMIT on a research paper that investigated the 4D printing of hydrogels for use in biological applications. The study considered the review of previously established hydrogels in order to expand the field in a meaningful way, particularly in the development of the method which focused on the ease of fabrication and adaptability for specialist clinical applications

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/superfoods