Solving the Puzzle of Rare Earth Element (REE) Ores Using ICP-OES

Webcast

Thursday, June 30th, 2022 at 2pm EDT|11am PDT|7pm BST|8pm CEST The complex rare-earth element (REE) spectra have long been a challenge for ICP-OES analysis. Learn how the right tools can make this analysis easier.

Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/rare_puzzle

Event Overview:

The complex rare-earth element (REE) spectra have long been a challenge for analysis by inductively coupled plasma–optical emission spectroscopy (ICP-OES) because of the hundreds of possible orbital transitions and corresponding emission wavelengths. Spectral overlaps and near-overlaps, especially in complex geological matrices, have made trace- level REE analysis nearly impossible. But the use of alternate wavelengths can help to avoid potential interferences. In addition, interference removal techniques allow the user to remove spectral interferences in the toughest matrices. Join us to discuss how the Agilent 5800/5900 ICP-OES spectrometers can help you solve the REE puzzle.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How to analyze spectrally complex matrices
  • How to choose wavelengths for REE analysis
  • The importance of interference removal techniques

Who Should Attend:

  • Labs performing REE analysis
  • Labs investigating REE analysis in Li Ion Battery Industry
  • Researchers looking at REE in geochemical samples

Speakers

Greg Gilleland
Application Scientist
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Greg Gilleland began his spectroscopy career in 1987 in Colorado, working at a series of environmental labs. After 14 years working in the world of commercial environmental labs, he moved on to a spectroscopy instrument manufacturer where he performed service and sales functions over the course of 11 years. He has been with Agilent Technologies, Inc., since 2012 in the role of Application Scientist for ICP-OES, MP-AES, and AA products.

Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/rare_puzzle