When Optics Matter

Published on: 

Webcasts

Webinar Date/Time: Europe: Tuesday, February 21st, 2023, at 10am BST | 11am CET North America: Tuesday, February 21st, 2023, at 1pm PST | 3pm CDT | 4pm EDT Asia: Wednesday, February 22nd, 2023, at 10:30am IST | 1pm SGT | 2pm JST | 4pm AEDT

Explore the subtleties of reflection and transmission measurements at normal incidence and at oblique angles, emphasizing high absorbance, optical density, linearity, and effects of incident beam collimation.

Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec/optics

Event Overview:

This webinar will guide you on the best practices, tools, and techniques needed to get the most reliable, verifiable insights into your optical components. Appropriate choice of technique and methodology is critical to getting the information you need to improve design, verify product performance, and accelerate manufacturing.

We will explore the subtleties of reflection and transmission measurements at normal incidence and at oblique angles, emphasizing high absorbance, optical density, linearity, and effects of incident beam collimation. We will discuss diffuse scattering measurements and automation/robotics to broaden quality assurance programs and speed up analysis.

The webinar is relevant to developers of optics, photonics, and electro-optical or semiconductor devices. Improve your understanding of the link between your desired outcomes and the spectrophotometric approaches needed to achieve those insights.


Key Learning Objectives:

Attendees will depart with a practical understanding of

  • The best spectrophotometric practices to extract deeper insights into the characteristics of optical samples.
  • How to overcome the limitations of traditional spectrophotometric tools and verify outcomes.
  • Accelerating QA/QC of optics in a production environment.


Who Should Attend:

  • Commercial or Academic organizations in the fields of; optics, photonics, electro-optical, or semiconductors
  • Laboratory Managers
  • Scientist/Staff Scientists
  • Lab Technician/Technologist
  • Analyst
  • Project Manager
  • SME Directors, Core Lab/ Facility Managers
  • Under/Post Graduate Researchers


Key Learning Objectives

  • Options for sample preparation in various matrices prior to analysis by the Agilent 8700 LDIR
  • The role of key QA procedures for managing and reducing sample contamination
  • Best practice for the use and handling of filters before and during sample preparation
  • Best practice to ensure accurate and efficient microplastic analysis using the Agilent 8700 LDIR

Who Should Attend

  • Microplastics researchers
  • Microplastics analysts from commercial, QA, or research labs seeking to better understand the role of sample preparation in microplastics analysis
  • Those interested in contamination of wastewater, seawater, freshwater, air, sediments, and food (such as fish, shellfish, crustaceans, and bottled water)

Speaker

Travis Burt
Global Product Manager
Cary UV-Vis-NIR Spectrophotometers
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Travis Burt is the Global Product Manager for Agilent's Cary UV-Vis-NIR spectrophotometers. Travis's responsibilities include business development, product marketing, new product definitions, and commercialization activities within Agilent's product life cycle. With over 20 years of experience in molecular spectroscopy, Travis has held roles in Agilent's UV-Vis-NIR, fluorescence, FT-IR, and IR Chemical Imaging product portfolio. Travis received his Master of Applied Science (Applied Physics) from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology on novel infrared instrumentation for use in the pulp and paper industry.

Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec/optics