34th Annual FACSS Meeting



Volume 22
Issue 9

Spectroscopy previews the 34th Annual Meeting of the FACSS, which will be held in Memphis, Tennessee.

The 34th Annual Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) meeting will be held from October 14–18, 2007, at the Memphis Cook Convention Center in Memphis, Tennessee. The conference is an annual meeting that covers the whole of analytical chemistry with an emphasis on spectroscopy.

The Federation was founded in order to combine many small meetings, previously organized by individual societies, into an annual meeting that covers the entirety of analytical chemistry. The affiliate organizations of FACSS are ACS-Analytical Division, ANACHEM, American Society for Mass Spectrometry, Coblentz, ISA, Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy. The FACSS conference has also been established as the National Meeting for the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.

The FACSS conference begins each day with plenary presentations given either by internationally recognized speakers or annual award recipients. After the daily plenary lectures, there are eight concurrent sessions within each half-day period, and each of those sessions is composed of poster and oral presentations. Prizes are awarded daily for outstanding poster presentations. Original research papers are presented at the conference from all areas of analytical chemistry and spectroscopy. Symposia topics will include atomic spectroscopy, chemometrics, forensics, mass spectrometry, nanotechnology, process control, surface plasmon resonance, bioanalytical, fluorescence, imaging science, molecular spectroscopy, pharmaceutical, Raman spectroscopy, and terahertz.


Ira W. Levin, Deputy Director of the Division of Intramural Research and Chief of the Section on Molecular Biophysics, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH (Bethesda, Maryland), will open the 2007 meeting with a lecture titled Interdisciplinary Biophotonics: Molecular Domains to Organelles to Organs. Bruce E. Bursten, president-elect of the American Chemical Society (Washington, DC), will present a plenary lecture titled The Centrality of Chemistry.


Workshops and short courses are conducted by leading experts in their respective fields. The FACSS workshop program covers a wide range of subjects that span basic state-of-the-art topics in analytical chemistry and spectroscopy.


The instrument exhibit is one of the focal points of FACSS. Ultimately, the realization of the research discussed during the FACSS symposia is exhibited at FACSS in the form of modern innovative instrumentation, software, and supplies. Exhibitors will also have the chance to participate in the "What's Hot" Vendor Symposium, where they will be given 7–10 minutes to present information about their products and services.

Exhibit hours:

Monday exhibit opening reception: 4:30 PM–6:30 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM–5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM–5:00 PM


Student Awards

Each year, FACSS presents the Tomas A. Hirschfeld Scholar Award and FACSS Student Award to outstanding graduate students. The 2007 Tomas A. Hirschfeld award will be presented to Matthew V. Schulmerich, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Michigan), and Junrong Zheng, Stanford University (Stanford, California). The 2007 FACSS Student Award will be given to Sen Li, Purdue University (West Lafayette, Louisiana).

Professional Awards

The Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancements at FACSS in the field of applied Raman spectroscopy. The 2007 recipient is Neil Everall of ICI, Ltd (Wilton, United Kingdom).

The Anachem Award is presented to an outstanding analytical chemist based upon activities in teaching, research, administration, or other activity that has advanced the art and science of the field. The 2007 recipient is Isiah M. Warner of the Warner Research Group (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana).

The Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award is given to the author(s) of the outstanding paper appearing in Applied Spectroscopy. The 2007 recipients are Richard Mendelsohn, Bozena Michniak, David Moore, and Ryan Pensack.

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. The 2007 recipient is Detlef Günther of ETH Zurich (Zurich, Switzerland).

The Coblentz Society award recognizes young individuals who have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The 2007 recipient is Katherine Bakeev of GlaxoSmithKline (King of Prussia, Pennsylvania).

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is given to a scientist who has made significant contributions to vibrational spectroscopy. This award will be announced at the conference.


For more information and to register online, visit the FACSS web page at www.facss.org.

FACSS International Office

PO Box 24379

Santa Fe, NM 87502

Phone: (505) 820-1648; Fax: (505) 989-1073

Email: facss@facss.org

Related Videos
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener of Burgener Research Inc.
Related Content