35th Annual FACSS Meeting


Spectroscopy previews the upcoming 35th Annual Meeting of the FACSS, to be held September 28 to October 2, 2008, in Reno, Nevada.

The 35th Annual FACSS Meeting will be held at the Grand Sierra Resort in Reno, Nevada, from September 28 through October 2, 2008. In addition to the conference events, attendees can enjoy such outdoor adventures as hiking, biking, golfing, and boating in the Reno area, and a fully equipped health club and spa at the Resort.

Plenary Lecture

The conference program will open with a plenary lecture by James Heath, Professor of Chemistry at Caltech (Pasadena, California) and Director of the National Cancer Institutes NSB Cancer Center. He will discuss Physics and Chemistry of Nanoscale Structures for Molecular Electronics and Biological Applications on Monday morning, September 29.

Symposia, Workshops, and Posters

A special feature at this year's meeting is 40 Years of Atomic Spectroscopy Innovation: A Tribute to Gary Hieftje. This symposium, scheduled for Tuesday, September 30, will honor Gary Hieftje, Indiana University (Bloomington, Indiana), and his 40 years of contributions to analytical chemistry and atomic spectroscopy.

Additional daily lectures, workshops, and short courses will be conducted by leading experts in their respective fields. Topics include atomic spectroscopy, bioanalysis, fluorescence, forensics, mass spectrometry, molecular spectrometry, nanoscience, nuclear magnetic resonance, process control, and Raman spectroscopy.

Each day, poster and oral presentations will follow the plenary lectures, and prizes will be awarded to students for outstanding poster presentations.


Student Awards

This year's Tomas A. Hirschfeld Scholar Award will be presented to Christopher R. Field, University of Illinois—Champaign (Champaign, Illinois) and Matthew D. Keller, Vanderbilt University (Nashville, Tennessee). The FACSS Student Award will be presented to David B. Strasfeld, University of Wisconsin—Madison (Madison, Wisconsin). These awards recognize the most outstanding papers submitted to FACSS by a graduate student.

Professional Awards

The Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy is presented each year to an individual who has demonstrated advancements presented at FACSS in the field of applied Raman spectroscopy. This year's recipient is Ian R. Lewis of Kaiser Optical Systems (Ann Arbor, Michigan).

The Anachem Award, which was established in 1953, is presented to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration, or other activities that have advanced the art and science of the field. The 2008 recipient is Scott A. McLuckey, Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana), whose research focuses on gas-phase ion chemistry and instrumentation for organic and biological mass spectrometry.

The Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award is given to the authors of the outstanding paper appearing in Applied Spectroscopy. The recipients for 2008 are Taka-aki Ishibashi and Toshiki Maeda.

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. The 2008 recipient is Annemie Bogaerts, University of Antwerp (Antwerp, Belgium).

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is sponsored jointly by the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, the Coblentz Society, and the Optical Society of America, and is given to honor the memory of Ellis R. Lippincott. It is awarded to a scientist who has made significant contributions to vibrational spectroscopy. The 2008 recipient is Richard P. Van Duyne, Northwestern University (Evanston, Illinois), who is known for the discovery of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS), the invention of nanosphere lithography (NSL), and development of ultrasensitive nanosensors based on localized surface plasmon resonance (LSPR) spectroscopy.

The Coblentz Society Craver Award recognizes young individuals who have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The recipient must be under the age of 45 on January 1 of the year of the award. The 2008 recipient is John C. Conboy, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Henry Eyring Scholar at the University of Utah (Salt Lake City, Utah).


The reception for the Exhibition opening, held in the exhibit hall early on Monday evening, is a traditional social event. Exhibitors often announce new products and technologies at FACSS, which tends to make the instrument exhibit one of the focal points of the conference. In addition, the "What's Hot" Vendor Symposium will be held on Sunday and during the lunchtime hours during the week. This consists of 7–10 min presentations by exhibitors about their products and services.

Exhibit hours:

Monday exhibit opening reception: 5:00 p.m. –7:00 p.m.

Tuesday: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.

Wednesday: 9:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m. and 5:00 p.m.–7:30 p.m.

New this year, on Wednesday evening, an all-inclusive conference social event will be held in the exhibit hall for all conferees and exhibitors from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.


For more information and to register online, visit the FACSS web page at www.facss.org.

FACSS International Office

PO Box 24379

Santa Fe, NM 87502

Phone: (505) 820-1648; Fax: (505) 989-1073

Email: facss@facss.org

Related Videos
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener of Burgener Research Inc.
Related Content