Achieving Top-Surface, Nanoscale Chemical Spectroscopy

Webcast

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 at 2pm EST | 1pm CST | 11am PST Join us for discussion and demonstration of Bruker’s new Surface Sensitive AFM-IR mode, offering sub-10-nm lateral resolution and <20 nm depth resolution in the infrared.

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/top

Event Overview:

Nanoscale infrared techniques, in particular AFM-IR, have been invaluable in recent years to access chemical information from a large variety of samples far beneath the diffraction limit with a sub-10 nm lateral resolution. A key limitation of traditional AFM-IR, known as Resonance Enhanced AFM-IR, is that the technique probes the full sample volume underneath the tip (up to approx. 1 um). This results in a convolution of IR spectral features when multiple thin films are stacked on top of each other. This presentation introduces Bruker’s new Surface Sensitive AFM-IR technique which provides chemical information from the sample surface with probing depths of <20 nm from the top surface, allowing researchers to directly determine the origin of IR spectral signatures. It will further discuss:

  • How surface sensitive AFM-IR provides surface chemical information
  • Applications where top surface data is most impactful, e.g., multilayer polymer films
  • Live demonstration of AFM-IR with Bruker’s NanoIR3 nanoscale infrared spectrometer

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the difference between surface and bulk chemical spectra
  • Operational understanding of surface sensitive AFM-IR
  • Identify applications where top surface data can be of value

Who Should Attend:

  • Infrared or Raman microscopists and spectroscopists / researchers
  • R&D and QA&QC engineers/scientists

Speakers

Cassandra Phillips, Ph.D.
Applications Scientist
Bruker

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/top