Measuring Heavy Metals and Other Elements in Alternative Proteins

Sponsored Content

Tuesday, August 23rd, 2022 at 11am EDT|8am PDT|4pm BST|5pm CEST Tuesday, August 23rd, 2022 at 2pm EDT|11am PDT|7pm BST|8pm CEST Wednesday, August 24th, 2022 at 12pm JST|11am HKT|1pm AEST Want to know the simplest and most efficient way to measure heavy metals and nutrient elements in alternative protein food products? Join Dr Tarun Anumol, Dr Jenny Nelson, and Peter Riles as they describe the practical steps you need to consider when implementing an elemental analysis system to meet your food safety regulatory obligations.

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/alternative_proteins

Event Overview:

As the world's population grows toward ~ 10 billion by 2050, the development and consumption of alternative proteins is expected to grow at pace to supplement traditional sources of protein.
The demand for proteins derived from plants and other biological sources is also being driven by increasing interest in healthy eating, a more sustainable food supply, and enhanced food resilience and food security. As with other food products, producers of alternative proteins must ensure the safety and nutritional content of their products. Measuring heavy metals and nutrient elements is important part of any food quality system.

Join three of Agilent’s food industry experts to learn more about alternative proteins and how to measure elements in these products.

Dr. Tarun Anumol, Agilent Director of Global Food Market, will discuss the burgeoning alternative proteins market and how it fits with the traditional protein market. Tarun will also discuss the drivers behind the increased focus on alternative proteins and why manufacturers of these products need to measure their elemental content to ensure product safety and quality. He will give an overview of the different analytical techniques that can be used for elemental analysis.

Adjunct Professor, Dr. Jenny Nelson, will discuss how to prepare samples and perform the elemental analysis of a novel cultured meat product as well as vegetable proteins. She will outline the challenges associated with the elemental analysis of these proteins using ICP-MS and will describe solutions to overcome these challenges.

Experienced lab chemist, Peter Riles, will discuss insect and fungi protein sources and how to prepare and analyze these for their elemental content. Peter will also discuss the challenges of elemental analysis associated with these types of samples and the solutions that ICP-MS can provide.


Key Learning Objectives:

  • How to prepare alternative protein samples for elemental analysis
  • Where and how metals sneak into products during the manufacturing process
  • How elemental analysis of alternative proteins is performed using atomic spectroscopy


Who Should Attend:

  • Inorganic/metals technicians working at food manufacturing plant
  • Food technology start ups
  • Food QA/QC lab manager
  • Alternative protein production facilities



Tarun Anumol
Director for Global Environment & Food Markets
Agilent Technologies


Tarun Anumol is the Director for Global Environment & Food Markets at for Agilent Technologies. Previously, he was an LC-MS applications scientist at Agilent, focused on developing analytical methods for trace contaminants on LC-MS/MS and LC-Q/TOF in food and environmental matrices. Tarun has a strong history of working in the environmental & food testing industry, with a background in technical and applied science, with over 30 peer-reviewed journal publications in this area. Prior to joining Agilent, Tarun graduated with a Ph.D. in Chemical & Environmental Engineering from the University of Arizona.

Jenny Nelson
Application Scientist
Agilent Technologies

Jenny Nelson received her Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Cincinnati in 2007, and her MBA from Saint Mary’s College of California in 2011. Currently, Jenny is an Application Scientist at Agilent Technologies, joining in 2012. Jenny is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Viticulture and Enology at the University of California, Davis, since 2013. Jenny has been very active with AOAC and ASTM over the past eight years, serving on expert review panels, chairing committees, and volunteering to develop new methods needed by the industry. Jenny has extensive experience in operating and method development for Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectroscopy (ICP-MS), Inductively Coupled Plasma Optical Emission Spectroscopy (ICP-OES), and Microwave Plasma Atomic Emission Spectroscopy (MP-AES).

Peter Riles
Application Engineer
Agilent Technologies


Peter Riles is currently working as an Application Engineer for Agilent Technologies Atomic Spectroscopy Division after joining in 2017. Collectively, Peter has over 22 years of atomic spectroscopy experience across all atomic spectroscopy platforms.

Previously, Peter held various roles in commercial geochemistry laboratories. This included sample preparation and analysis using a large variety of chemical techniques and instrumentation. Peter’s experience in laboratories culminated in supervising and managing commercial analytical laboratories.

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/alternative_proteins