33rd Annual FACSS Meeting



Volume 21
Issue 9

September 2006. Spectroscopy previews the 33rd Annual Meeting of the FACSS, to be held September 24-28 in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

The 33rd Annual Meeting of the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) will be held at Disney's Contemporary Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, from September 24 to September 28, 2006. Taking advantage of the unique entertainment opportunities available at the Walt Disney World Resort, the FACSS will hold its Wednesday evening event at the Adventurers Club at Walt Disney World's Pleasure Island. In addition, conferees can purchase specially priced Disney Meeting and Convention tickets for the theme parks when they register.

Plenary Lectures

Harry McSween, Professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and a co-investigator for the Mars Exploration Rovers, will open the program with his presentation, Spectroscopy on the Red Planet: More than Meets the Eye. Professor Alan Marshall of Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, will present the closing plenary lecture for the conference, Ultrahigh-Resolution Mass Spectrometry for Separation and Identification of Complex Analytical, Biological, and Environmental Organic Mixtures. Each daily plenary lecture will be followed by poster sessions and oral presentations from all areas of analytical chemistry and spectroscopy.


Morning, afternoon, and full-day workshops and short courses covering a wide range of topics in analytical chemistry and spectroscopy will be conducted by leading experts in their respective fields. A complete list of all workshops being held at this year's conference is available at https://facss.org/facss/workshops_list.php.

Presentation of Awards

Professional Awards

For the first time, the Anachem Award, presented annually since 1953, will be given posthumously. Being recognized with this honor is the late Richard D. Sacks, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The 2006 Recipient of the Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy is Michael Morris, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Michigan.

The Lester W. Strock Award will be presented to Paul Farnsworth.

Receiving the Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award are the authors of the outstanding paper appearing in Applied Spectroscopy. They are Pavel Matousek, Ian Clark, Edward Draper, Michael Morris, Allen Goodship, Neil Everall, Mike Towrie, William F. Finney, and Anthony Parker. The recipient of the 2006 Ellis R. Lippincott Award will be announced at the conference.

Student Awards

The 2006 Tomas A. Hirschfeld Award will be presented to Andrea Rae Tao, University of California, Berkeley, California, and Tim M. Brewer, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina.

Daniel B. Bassil, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri, is the 2006 Recipient of the FACSS Student Award.

Finally, 2006 FACSS Student Award Honorable Mentions will be given to Marion Lawrence-Snyder, University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina, and Maria F. Mora, University of Texas at San Antonio.


Instrument exhibition is one of the focal points of FACSS. It is always exciting to see how the research discussed during FACSS symposia becomes modern, innovative instrumentation, software, and supplies. One of the exhibit features is the "What's Hot" Vendor Symposium, which will be held Monday, September 25, beginning at 1:30 PM. Exhibitors can share brief PowerPoint presentations on the latest news or products from their companies.

Exhibit Hours:

Monday: Exhibit opening reception 4:00–6:00 PM

Tuesday and Wednesday: 9:00 AM–5:00 PM


For more information and to register on-line, see the FACCS web page at http://www.facss.org.

Related Videos
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
Robert Jones speaks to Spectroscopy about his work at the CDC. | Photo Credit: © Will Wetzel
John Burgener of Burgener Research Inc.
Related Content