Ellis R. Lippincott Award to Be Presented to Martin Zanni at SciX 2022

Published on: 

Martin Zanni, who is the Meloche-Bascom professor of chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is the winner of the 2022 Ellis R. Lippincott Award. The award, jointly established in 1975 by the Optical Society (OSA), the Coblentz Society, and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy and honors the unique contributions of Professor Ellis R. Lippincott, one of the developers of the diamond anvil cell, widely used in high pressure research. It will be presented to Zanni at the SciX conference, which takes place October 2–7 at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center in Greater Cincinnati.


Zanni received his PhD from the University of California-Berkeley, working with Dan Neumark, and was an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania with Robin Hochstrasser. He is one of the early pioneers of two-dimensional (2D) infrared (2D IR) spectroscopy and has made many technological innovations that have broadened the capabilities and scope of a wide range of multidimensional spectroscopies and microscopies. He uses these new techniques to study topics in biophysics, chemical physics, photovoltaics, and surfaces.

Zanni has received many national and international accolades for his research and is the only person to have received the ACS Nobel Laureate Signature Award as both a student and a mentor. He founded PhaseTech Spectroscopy Inc., the first company to commercialize 2D IR and 2D electronic spectroscopies and is the first person to receive the Craver, Coblentz, and Lippincott Awards.