4th Annual Molecular Spectroscopy in Practice Symposium

Webcast

Webcasts

Webinar Date/Time: Tuesday, July 25th, 2023 Morning session: 9:30am EDT|6:30am PST|3:30pm CET|2:30pm GMT Afternoon session: 2pm EDT|11am PST|8pm CET|7pm GMT Wednesday,July 26th, 2023 Morning session: 9:30am EDT|6:30am PST|3:30pm CET|2:30pm GMT Afternoon session: 2pm EDT|11am PST|8pm CET|7pm GMT

Spectroscopists, now’s your chance to get back to basics. Join us for our fourth annual two-day virtual symposium, presented jointly by the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (SAS), the Coblentz Society, and Spectroscopy magazine, on Molecular Spectroscopy in Practice. The focus of this year’s event, to be held Tuesday, July 25 and Wednesday, July 26, is on fundamentals and best practices of molecular spectroscopy techniques.

Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/fundamentals

Event Overview:

Spectroscopy magazine, the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (SAS), and the Coblentz Society are pleased to present a joint virtual conference on July 25 and 26, 2023, on molecular spectroscopy. In this year’s symposium—our fourth annual—we focus on fundamentals. Wise, experienced experts present tutorials on core knowledge and best practices for working with molecular spectroscopy techniques, from developing methods through analyzing samples, and data analysis, for Raman, mid-infrared (MIR), and near-infrared (NIR) spectroscopy. These talks will preview the more in-depth short courses these speakers will teach on these subjects at the SciX 2023 conference.
Each day, the morning sessions will include four 30-minute talks, followed by an interactive question-and-answer (Q&A) period with all the speakers to address audience questions. In the afternoon, leading instrument suppliers will give 20-minute talks discussing troubleshooting, tips-and-tricks, and applications.


We wish to extend a special thank you to Adam Hopkins, Peter Larkin, and Ellen Miseo, members of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy and the Coblentz Society, for organizing the speakers.


Top Reasons to Attend

  • Reinforce your core knowledge of Raman, MIR, NIR, and the analytics that play a role in each technique
  • Learn why hardware matters in sampling, and what to look for
  • Hear about the development and implementation of quantitative spectroscopy methods
  • A few hours online will save you days of work in the laboratory!




Day One, Tuesday, July 25th:

Morning session, 9:30 am—12:15 pm EDT

Molecular Spectroscopy in Practice: Fundamentals and Best Practices

9:30 am EDT
Practical Vibrational Spectroscopy
James A. de Haseth, Senior Partner, Light Light Solutions, LLC

10:00 am EDT
Diamond ATR – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Ellen V. Miseo, Ph. D., Miseo Consulting

10:30 am EDT
What’s Inside the Box?
Alexander Scheeline, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and President, SpectroClick, Inc.

11:00 am EDT
Advances in Raman for Chemical Imaging
Zachary D. Schultz, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The Ohio State University

11:30 am EDT Question-and-answer period with all the speakers in the session
12:15 pm EDT Session close

Afternoon session, 2:00–4:00 pm EDT
 
Molecular Spectroscopy Applications, Tips, and Best Practices from Our Sponsors

2:00pm EDT
Sampling for Sucess -Considerations for Sample collection and Analysis for Infrared Spectroscopy
Ryan Smith, Field Applications Manager / Sr. Applications Scientist, PerkinElmer

2:20pm EDT
UV-Visible Derivative Spectroscopy: Theory and Applications
Dr. Jennifer Empey, Applications Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific


Day Two, July 26th, 2023

Morning session, 9:30 am–12:00 pm EDT

Molecular Spectroscopy in Practice: Fundamentals and Best Practices

9:30 am EDT
The Role of the Microscope in Microspectroscopy
Dale Purcell, Chemical Microscopy, LLC

10:00 am EDT
Primer: How to Build a Quantitative Method for Near Infrared and Raman Instrumentation
Deborah A. Peru, Consultant, DP Spectroscopy & Training, LLC
 

10:30 am EDT
Is Data Analytics Relevant to Analytical Chemistry?
Mary Kate Donais, Professor, Chemistry Department, Saint Anselm College

11:00 am EDT
Vibrational Spectroscopy, Process Analytics, and Green Chemistry
Jim Rydzak, Founder and CEO, Specere Consulting

11:30 am EDT Question-and-answer period with all the speakers in the session
12:15 pm EDT Session close

Afternoon session, 2:00–4:00 pm EDT

Molecular Spectroscopy Applications, Tips, and Best Practices from Our Sponsors

2:00pm EDT
From the Lab to the Table – Food Analysis with Raman Microsc
Andrea Richter, Senior Application Scientist, Oxford Instruments WITec

Speakers:

James A. de Haseth
Senior Partner
Light Light Solutions, LLC

Ellen V. Miseo, Ph. D.,
Miseo Consulting

Alexander Scheeline
Professor Emeritus of Chemistry,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and President, SpectroClick, Inc.

Zachary D. Schultz
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry,
The Ohio State University

Dale Purcell
Chemical Microscopy LLC

Deborah A. Peru
Consultant
DP Spectroscopy & Training, LLC

Mary Kate Donais
Professor, Chemistry Department,
Saint Anselm College

Jim Rydzak
Founder and CEO
Specere Consulting

Ryan Smith
Field Applications Manager / Sr. Applications Scientist
PerkinElmer

Dr. Jennifer Empey
Applications Scientist
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Andrea Richter
Senior Application Scientist
Oxford Instruments WITec


Register Free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/fundamentals

Related Content