SERS Nanosensors for Biomedical Applications—from Cancer Diagnoses to Characterizing Drug Delivery Nanocarriers

November 24, 2020
HORIBA Scientific

***Live: Tuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET *** Join us for this webcast on surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) applications in the biomedical field. Learn how biofunctionalized metal nanoparticles can act as bright nanosensors, providing diagnostic information on biosystems, selectively targeting cancer cells and probing pH with very high spatial resolution. *** On demand available after final airing until Nov. 24, 2021.***

Register free: ​https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/nanocarriers

Event Overview:

In this presentation, I will illustrate how surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) and Raman micro-spectroscopy can be successfully applied to different types of biomedical analysis. Among these, I will focus on the diagnosis and therapy of cancer at the single cell level using folate-based SERS-active nanosensors. I will discuss how the sensitivity of SERS can be employed not only for quantifying the interaction of the nanosensor with cancer and normal cells, but also for precisely characterizing nanocarriers for drug delivery applications.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the basics of surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS).
  • Appreciate how the specificity and sensitivity of Raman spectroscopy and SERS can be employed successfully in the biomedical analysis, including cancer studies and nanocarriers for drug delivery

Speaker: Claudia Fasolato, Ph.D., Researcher, The Department of Physics and Geology at University of Perugia

Time and Date: Tuesday, November 24, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Nov. 24, 2021

Sponsor: HORIBA Scientific

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/nanocarriers