Analysis of Surface Chemistry by FT-IR Spectroscopy

March 23, 2021
Bruker

***Live: Tuesday, March 23, 2021 12pm EDT | 9am PDT | 4pm GMT| 5pm CET*** The latest advances in the instrumentation and applications of vibrational spectroscopy for the chemical analysis of surfaces will be reviewed in this presentation with a thorough discussion of topics. ***On demand available after final airing until Mar. 23, 2022***

Register free: ​​ https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/ftir

Event Overview:

Infrared (IR) spectroscopy is highly specific for identifying chemical composition, because each individual compound has a characteristic IR spectrum that serves as a “fingerprint” to uniquely identify the compound. This makes IR spectroscopy the most widely used technique for characterizing surface chemistry, from lubricant layers to deposited thin films down to molecular monolayers. Experimental design depends on the surface composition and morphology, and must include specific hardware including sampling accessories. Instrument settings need to be optimized to reduce spectral noise.

Key Learning Objectives:

The latest advances in the instrumentation and applications of vibrational spectroscopy for the chemical analysis of surfaces will be reviewed in this presentation with a thorough discussion of the following topics:

  • Surface characterization techniques: ATR (attenuated total reflection), including GATR (grazing angle germanium ATR): External (specular) reflection, including IRRAS (infrared reflection and absorption spectroscopy); and DRIFTS (Diffuse Reflection Infrared Fourier Transform Spectroscopy)
  • Characterization of thin films and molecular monolayers deposited onto metallic, semiconductor, and dielectric substrates
  • Heterogeneous gas-solid catalysis studies of gases interacting with catalytic surfaces
  • Optimization of FT-IR instrument parameters for surface analysis
  • Techniques to reduce the spectral contribution of atmospheric water and CO2

Speakers: 

Sergey Shilov, Ph.D, R&D Product Manager, Bruker North America, Bruker Optics

Jeffrey Christenson, Technical Marketing and Sales Manager, Bruker North America, Harrick Scientific

Time and Date: Tuesday, March 23, 2021 12pm EDT | 9am PDT | 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Mar. 23, 2022

Sponsor: Bruker

Register free: https://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/ftir