Heavy Metals in Cannabis: Efforts toward an official AOAC method

Webcasts

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 at 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT Learn about pending AOAC methodology for the determination of heavy metals content in cannabis and cannabis containing products utilizing high throughput microwave digestion and inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry (ICP-MS).

Register Free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/AOAC

Event Overview:

The legalization of hemp, medicinal cannabis, and recreational marijuana has driven demand for cannabis products worldwide. There is lack of federal regulations to ensure quality and safety of these products. Among these missing regulations are testing protocols for toxic heavy metals. In this webinar, an AOAC First Action Method will be reviewed and include preparation of multi-elemental analysis of plant material, cannabis containing foods, and cannabis containing personal care products. This method utilizes sample preparation by microwave digestion followed by analysis by inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry (ICP-MS).

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand current and proposed heavy metals limits in cannabis and cannabis containing products
  • Learn one high-throughput microwave digestion protocol for all cannabis samples
  • Implement multi-element analysis of a wide variety of samples utilizing ICP-MS

Who Should Attend:

  • Metals analysis lab managers, chemists, and technicians involved in trace metals testing of cannabis
  • Lab managers and lab technicians looking to optimize heavy metals analysis of cannabis
  • Lab directors and commercial lab managers looking to increase throughput of cannabis sample testing

Register free: http://www.spectroscopyonline.com/spec_w/AOAC